Congratulations to the winners of the Peter Burns Mock Trial Competition

Peter Burns Mock Trial Competition Mooters Emily Creighton, Olivia Whynot, Emory Wells, Tim McCormick, Nathan Wells, Cayleigh Handford, Brendan Easton, and  Maddy MacDonald

Congratulations to the winners of the Peter Burns Mock Trial Competition, Olivia Whynot and Nathan Wells, and the alternate winners, Emily Creighton and Cayleigh Handford! The two winning students will go on represent the Allard School of Law in the MacIntyre Cup (the Western Canada Moot Competition) next term. The top two teams at Western Canada Moot will then compete in the Sopinka Cup (the National Trial Moot Competition) in Ottawa.

The annual Peter Burns Mock Trial Competition took place in the Moot Courtroom at the Peter A. Allard School of Law on Friday, November 16 and was a tremendous success thanks to the contributions of over 40 volunteers and excellent work by all participants.

This year’s mooters were Tim McCormick, Olivia Whynot, Emory Wells, Emily Creighton, Cayleigh Handford, Brendan Easton, Maddy MacDonald, and Nathan Wells.  These students appeared before a distinguished panel of four provincial judges and all demonstrated excellent advocacy skills. The trials also featured student volunteers playing the roles of witnesses and jurors.

The Peter Burns Mock Trial Competition would not be possible without the time and efforts of many dedicated volunteers, including members of the judiciary, counsel and law students. The Faculty would like to thank everyone involved, including the event sponsors (The Crown Counsel Association and Joven Narwal), coaches (Judge Challenger, Mike Barrenger, Scott Wright, Judge Bahen, Mark Myhre, Brent Anderson, Judge Adams, Anthony Toljanich, Kristy Neurauter, Judge Jahani, Dianne Wiedemann, Rebecca McConchie), downtown coordinator (Laura McPheeters), the Office of the Chief Judge of the Provincial Court of British Columbia, judges for the final trials (Judge Dhillon, Judge Harris, Judge Gaffar, Judge McQuillan) dress rehearsal judges (Judge Challenger, Judge Bahen) and Allard School of Law staff (Michelle Burchill and Julie Carlsten).


Displaying 581 - 590 of 682
Necessary Fictions, the Biopolitics of Law, and Cosmopolitan Law
Responsive Regulation in Theory and Practice
Protecting Public Health UBC Law Doctoral Student Wins International Paper Competition
Honouring Students and Faculty
Just Nine Months Away!
Have Your Say - Nominate your favorite legal quote for inclusion in the new building
Beverley McLachlin Legal Access Award
New Entrance Scholarship
UBC Law's Aboriginal Awareness Week a Tremendous Success
Nominations Open for the George Curtis Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence