Allard Law Wins National Labour Arbitration Competition

Allard School of Law students Jaclyn Salter, Braeden Stang and Rachel Garrett were this year’s winners of the Mathews Dinsdale and Clark LLP Canadian Labour Arbitration Competition, which was held in Toronto recently.

Jaclyn, Braeden and Rachel faced the University of Toronto in the final round, following two rounds of mooting against the University of Alberta and Queen’s University. This year’s moot problem centred on a termination grievance concerning company sponsored events, the regulation of off-duty conduct, and reliance on after-acquired cause for termination.

The team had the privilege to present their final arguments to an esteemed panel, including The Honourable Malcolm Rowe, QC, Matthew Wilson (Alternate Chair, Ontario Labour Relations Board), and Ginette Brazeau (Chair, Canada Industrial Relations Board).

“I am very proud of Jaclyn, Braeden, and Rachel’s performance and conduct in Toronto, and leading up to it,” said Professor Bethany Hastie who served as the team’s coach. “This team dedicated an extraordinary number of hours, resources and effort in preparing for this moot, and it is tremendously exciting to see their efforts formally recognized and rewarded through this achievement.”

The Allard School of Law’s participation in this moot would not be possible without the support of Roper Greyell LLP, Victory Square Law Office, and Moore Edgar Lister LLP. The law school would also like to thank Jennifer Russell and Bobby Sangha of Roper Greyell LLP for generously dedicating a significant amount of time and resources as coaches for this moot.

About the Mooting Program:

The Allard School of Law offers students the opportunity to take part in competitive moots during their second or third years. The benefits of mooting include intensive training in written and oral advocacy before judges, practitioners and academics, the opportunity to work with other students, and the chance to meet law students from other universities.

Photo caption (from left to right): Matthew Wilson (Alternate Chair, Ontario Labour Relations Board), The Honourable Malcolm Rowe, QC (Supreme Court of Canada), Jaclyn Salter, Braeden Stang, Rachel Garrett and Ginette Brazeau (Chair, Canada Industrial Relations Board)