Faculty

The Peter A. Allard School of Law hosts a vibrant community of feminist legal scholars who research diverse topics in many areas of law. Questions of race, sexual orientation, class, and disability are also explored. Many faculty members are also involved in research related to litigation, law reform, and judicial education, as well as research aimed at producing publications in the Canadian Journal of Women and the Law . Please contact any of the feminist faculty members below for further information on how to become involved in these projects. You can also contact the Centre for Feminist Legal Studies at 604-822-6523 or cfls@allard.ubc.ca.

The Faculty lost a great feminist scholar and colleague when Marlee Kline passed away in November 2001. Her work is remembered by the Centre for Feminist Legal Studies through its annual Marlee G. Kline Essay Prize and the annual Marlee Kline Lecture in Social Justice, and a collection of her books now housed in the Centre's resource library.

 

Professor Natasha Affolder
(604) 822-0734
 affolder@allard.ubc.ca

  • Protected Areas Law
  • Sustainable Development Law
  • Environmental Law (Canadian and International)
  • Natural Resources Law

Faculty Home Page

Professor Efrat Arbel
(604) 822-6287
arbel@allard.ubc.ca

  • Constitutional Law
  • Migration Law
  • Aboriginal Law
  • Prison Law and Policy
  • Tort Law
  • Critical and Legal Theory

Faculty Home Page

Patricia Barkaskas (Lecturer)
(604) 684-7334
barkaskas@allard.ubc.ca

  • Indigenous Community Legal Clinic

Faculty Home Page

Nicole Barrett (Lecturer)
(604) 822-6287
barrett@allard.ubc.ca

  • Corruption
  • Human Trafficking
  • International Criminal Law
  • International Human Rights
  • Criminal Law

Faculty Home Page

Professor Janine Benedet

Professor Janine Benedet
(604) 822-8108
benedet@allard.ubc.ca

  • Sexual discrimination and sexual harassment
  • Labour law
  • Criminal sexual offences
  • Professional responsibility and ethics

Faculty Home Page

Professor Emma Cunliffe

Professor Emma Cunliffe
(604) 822-1849
cunliffe@allard.ubc.ca

  • Expert evidence
  • Fact determination
  • Legal methodologies
  • Women and criminal law

Faculty Home Page

Professor Catherine Dauvergne

Professor Catherine Dauvergne
Dean of the Allard School of Law
(604) 822-6505
dauvergne@allard.ubc.ca

  • Immigration Law
  • Refugee Law
  • Legal Theory and Globalization

Faculty Home Page

Professor Cristie Ford

Professor Cristie Ford
(604) 822-2711
ford@allard.ubc.ca

  • Comparative administrative and public law
  • Securities regulation and corporate governance
  • Legal theory and public decision-making

Faculty Home Page

Professor Isabel Grant

Professor Isabel Grant
(604) 822-3140
 grant@allard.ubc.ca

  • Criminal Law
  • Law and Psychiatry
  • Criminal Justice and Women
  • Mental Health Law

Faculty Home Page

Bethany Hastie (Lecturer)
(604) 827-2634
 hastie@allard.ubc.ca

  • Torts
  • Public Law
  • Advanced Legal Research
  • Transnational Law
  • Charter

Faculty Home Page

Professor Darlene Johnston
(604) 822-9517
djohnston@allard.ubc.ca

  • Indigenous Legal Traditions
  • Canadian Aboriginal and Treaty Rights
  • Law and Colonialism

Faculty Home Page

Professor Asha Kaushal
(604) 822-3905
kaushal@allard.ubc.ca

  • Cultural Difference and Law
  • ​Constitutional Law and Theory
  • Critical and Legal Theory
  • Immigration Law
  • Citizenship Law
  • International Law

Faculty Home Page

Professor Michelle LeBaron

Professor Michelle LeBaron
(604) 822-1830
lebaron@allard.ubc.ca

  • Cross-cultural Conflict Resolution
  • Law, Legal Culture and Conflict Resolution
  • Conflict across Worldview Differences
  • Creativity and Conflict
  • Ritual, Narrative, Metaphor and Conflict
  • Gender and Conflict
  • Spirituality, Religion and Conflict
  • Teaching Innovation and Effective Teaching and Learning

Faculty Home Page

Professor Mary Liston

Professor Mary Liston
(604) 822-9844
liston@allard.ubc.ca

  • Administrative Law
  • Canadian Law and Politics
  • Contemporary Political Philosophy
  • Democratic and Legal Theory
  • Legal Pluralism

Faculty Home Page

Professor Karin Mickelson

Professor Karin Mickelson
(604) 822-6165
mickelson@allard.ubc.ca

  • International Environmental Law
  • Property Law
  • International Law

Faculty Home Page

Professor Debra Parkes
Chair in Feminist Legal Studies
(604) 822-3141
parkes@allard.ubc.ca

  • Constitutional Law
  • ​Criminal Law
  • Critical Prison Studies
  • Feminist Legal Studies
  • Socio-Legal Studies
  • Human Rights

Faculty Home Page

Professor Janis Sarra

Professor Janis Sarra
(604) 822-9255
sarra@allard.ubc.ca

  • Corporate Law
  • Insolvency Law
  • Legal Process and Decision-Making

Faculty Home Page

The Hon. Lynn Smith
Retired Justice of the Supreme Court of British Columbia
Honorary Professor

Profile Page on the Allard School of Law History Project

Professor Jocelyn Stacey
(604) 822-9255
stacey@allard.ubc.ca

  • Environmental Law
  • Environmental Externship
  • Administrative Law

Faculty Home Page

Professor Margot Young

Professor Margot Young
(604) 822-9685
myoung@allard.ubc.ca

  • Equality law and theory
  • Social and Economic Rights
  • Comparative Constitutional Law
  • Social Welfare Law
  • Canadian Social Union

Faculty Home Page