THE CANADIAN LAW OF OBLIGATIONS: Innovations, Innovators, and the Next 20 Years

Friday, May 5, 2017 - 08:15 to Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 17:30


The Canadian Law of Obligations 2017 Conference is occurring this week, on the 5th & 6th of May. The Conference looks to be an excellent opportunity to propel the law of Obligations forward, and craft a vision for the field in the decades to come.

The Conference marks the retirement of the distinguished professor and legal scholar Joost Blom, in recognition of Professor Blom’s contributions to the Canadian law of Obligations as both a scholar and a teacher. This Conference will be a prized moment in the Canadian scholarship of the law of Obligations. It brings together many of the most prized legal minds in the field, including Justice Russell Brown, Justice Linden (retired) and many other great thinkers, scholars, and practitioners to share their research, and engage with a diverse audience.

Please see the updated conference programme here. Professor Liz Edinger’s willingness to welcome attendees to Allard Hall is particularly appreciated.  

Registration has closed. If you wish to attend, but have not registered, please contact Co-Convener Lachlan Caunt ( to inquire about attendance.

Continuing Professional Development Opportunity: this conference has been approved by the Law Society of BC for 13.5 credits. 

Special thanks to the Peter A. Allard School of Law for their generous contribution, and their making available the space and resources to host the Canadian Law of Obligations 2017 Conference.

Further thanks to LexisNexis for their generous donation, and their work in arranging publication of select proceedings from the conference. Further details on the publication of the proceedings in the Supreme Court Law Review will be forthcoming during, and after the conference. Inquiries on publication, if needed, should be directed to Professor Hall (

List of Presenters:

Keynote Presenters for the Conference are:

  • Justice Russell Brown (Supreme Court of Canada)
  • Professor Bruce Feldthusen (University of Ottawa)
  • Professor Joost Blom (Peter A. Allard School of Law)
  • Professor Lewis Klar, Emeritus (University of Alberta)

Papers will be presented from the following Law of Obligations experts:

  • Mr. David Cheifetz (Oxon, Mst Legal Research Candidate)
  • Professor Mayo Moran (University of Toronto)
  • Professor Erika Chamberlain (University of Western Ontario)
  • Professor Bruce Pardy (Queen’s University)
  • Professor Jason Neyers (University of Western Ontario)
  • Professor Alistair Price (University of Cape Town)
  • Professor Daniele Bertolini (Ryerson University)
  • Professor Jojo YC Mo (City University of Hong Kong)
  • Professor David Mangan (City University of London)
  • Professor Richard Lewis (Cardiff University)
  • Professor Pablo Lerner (Ramat Gan School of Law)
  • Professor Ying Khai Liew (University College London)
  • Professor Efrat Arbel (Peter A. Allard School of Law)
  • Professor Margaret I. Hall (Thompson Rivers University)
  • Professor Hilary Young (University of New Brunswick)
  • Professor Zoe Sinel (University of Western Ontario)
  • Professor Chris Hunt (Thompson Rivers University)
  • Professor Emily Laidlaw (University of Calgary)
  • Professor Elizabeth Adjin-Tetty (University of Victoria Faculty of Law)
  • Mr. Samuel Beswick (Harvard, SJD Candidate)
  • Mr. Krish Maharaj (Peter A. Allard School of Law, PhD Candidate)
  • Ms. Aliya Chouinard (Thompson Rivers University, JD Candidate)
  • Mr. John Enman-Beech (University of Toronto, SJD Candidate)
  • Mr. Lachlan Caunt (Peter A. Allard School of Law, PhD Candidate)

Justice Linden is unfortunately unable to join us, and had to withdraw from the conference, but wishes us all the best for a successful conference and splendid time together.


The Conference is hosted in separate buildings on the 5th & 6th of May.

May 5

  • Lew Theatre, on the main floor of the Peter A. Allard School of Law, UBC. All sessions will occur in room 106 of Allard Hall. 
  • At 8:15am light breakfast and coffee will be served in the Lew Forum of Allard Hall.
  • Sessions will commence at 9:00 and continue until 5:30pm. The conference will break for a light lunch
  • A catered light reception will be held at the Faculty Terrace at Allard Hall from 6:00 to 8:00pm

May 6

  • Jack Poole Hall, on the second floor of the Robert H. Lee Alumni Centre, UBC
  • At 8:15am light breakfast and coffee will be served
  • The sessions will commence at 8:45 and continue until 5:30pm.
  • The conference will break for a light lunch at 12:00

The two venues both located on East Mall in the UBC Campus, a short walk from each other. Student volunteers will be available on both days to provide directions.

Photographs will be taken of public proceedings on both days of the conference. Photos will be used on the Allard School of Law website and social media only and will not be used for any other purposes outside of this CLO conference.

Publication information


Please direct any questions to Professor Margaret Hall ( or Lachlan Caunt ( .

Organizer Bios:

Professor Isabel Hall

Margaret Isabel Hall is an Associate Professor at the Faculty of Law, Thompson Rivers University where she teaches Torts and Advanced Torts, Family Law, and Wills an Estates. Margaret is also an adjunct professor in the School of Criminology at Simon Fraser University.  Margaret has published extensively in the areas of tort law, with a focus on systemic and institutional theories of tort liability.  Margaret is also a co-author of The Law of Nuisance in Canada (1st and 2nd editions). In addition to tort law, Margaret has published extensively in the emerging area of law and aging, with a focus on mental capacity, vulnerability, and dementia.  Margaret’s publications may be accessed through her SSRN author page and at Research Gate:




Lachlan Caunt

Lachlan Caunt is a PhD student at the Peter A. Allard School of Law, UBC. After graduating from the Australian National University, Lachlan now works and studies in British Columbia. He writes on torts, conflicts of laws, restitution; with a particular interest on sufficiency of proof and causation. Read some of Lachlan's work.